Day 8 ~ Painting a Day Challenge

Day 8 of my painting a day challenge and I worked on friend Tracey Said’s dog Kendra. I visited England many years back now and while there spent a night of fun with my good friends Tracey and Nick Said. The following morning I saw Kendra sitting on this big pile of pillows and a quilt against the black leather couch. Even back then I knew someday I would paint her, but, it’s taken all this time to get round to her! I loved the look of Kendra doing a twist with her body and giving me a profile shot. The textures and all this black and green was just too enticing for me to resist. I managed to paint this painting with only the tiniest fragments of white acrylic so I feel quite happy that I was able to rely on it less with today’s painting. The structure of Kendra’s body isn’t where I’d like it to be, but, I could say that with every single painting I paint so no news there! The best I can do it try, try, try again and eventually me eyes will catch these things prior to putting paint on the canvas. Again today this was a very smooth practice for me I felt calm and relaxed. I could have worked on something more complicated to really challenge myself only I saw this photo and knew she was my girl for today!!!  Thanks for checking out my progress. Critics are most welcome if anyone feels inclined.

  • Tracey’s Kendra
  • 5 x 7″
  • Watercolor on 300lb hot press
  • $100
2 comments on “Day 8 ~ Painting a Day Challenge

  1. I just love looking at your paintings and reading what your thoughts and feelings are. You are a very talented lady… but I have one other thing to say…
    Don’t be soo tough on yourself! 😉😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Shawna thanks so much for writing and letting me know you are looking! I really appreciate your kind words…hey, and you know what they say…one is their own worst critic! Love and miss you! xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

